County Final 1963

Champions take third senior title

Turloughmore 5 – 13     Fohenagh 2 -  4

Galway’s hurling championship games in general and finals in particular have, in the past been bedeviled by unsavory incidents and scenes that marred many encounters. Last Sunday’s senior decider involving Turloughmore and Fohenagh differed only slightly - the “fireworks” came after the final whistle.

While Turloughmore were almost effortless winners by eighteen points and so achieved the notable success of winning a hat-trick of county wins deserving of special niche.

With the wind in their favour Murphy and Fallon dominant at centre field, Turloughmore’s forwards were almost continually on the attack. Out speeding and outthinking their opponents they carved up the defence. Unable to match them, the Fohenagh defenders resorted to fouling and inter-county player Mickey Cullinane never missed a chance. It was the Cullinane pair Mickey and Michael, who won the game for Turloughmore. In a golden spell between the second and fourth minutes of the second half, corner forward Michael blazed in a delightful goal and flashed over two points to level the scores. Then Mickey at centre forward came into his own, spearheading almost every attack, he foiled only by fouls and then reaped his reward by scoring six successive placed balls between the fifth and sixteenth minutes. Mickey finished with a grand total of 1 - 7, while Michael notched 2 - 2.

Once Turlough exerted pressure on the restart they were almost unbeatable. At least there was nothing Fohenagh could do to contain them. In the goal for the winners Bobby Madden was equal to anything that came his way and effected some good second half clearances. He was solidly fronted by Pakie Burke with corner men Pat Langan and Paddy Caulfield giving good assistance. Jack Gill was impressive at centre half and Mickey Fahy did well on the wing. Midfielders Seamus Murphy and Seamus Fallon ruled the roost for the entire second half and were much stronger than Fohenagh, whose Jimmy Murray laboured almost alone. In attack Mickey Cullinane took the honours while Michael Cullinane’s opportunism was one of the few bright moments of a dull hour. Frank Coffey and John Burke also showed up well.

Turloughmore faced the wind in the first half and were under pressure during the opening minutes. In their first attack, however, the Fohenagh defence blundered and big John Burke had the ball in the net after only three and a half minutes play. Back came Fohenagh in lively manner and Tim Sweeney equalised a minute later. No further score came for eight minutes during which time Fohenagh drove wide after wide. Turloughmore attacked and Frank Coffey pointed a free. After fifteen minutes Jim Murray pointed to level. A minute and a half later Frankie Glynn shot a grand goal for Fohenagh and Gerry Sweeney and Abie Glynn added points in quick succession. Jimmy Corry flashed over another minor seven minutes from half time but Turloughmore had the last word as John Burke shot a point to leave the interval score: Turloughmore 1 – 2 Fohenagh 2 – 4.

Turloughmore were into there stride from the throw in a Michael Cullinane shot a point after two minutes. Securing almost immediately from the puck-out he cracked home a delightful goal and a minute later pointed again to set the sides level. Then came Mickey Cullinane's spell. He pointed six successive frees to leave his side leading by 2 - 10 to 2 - 4 after sixteen minutes. It was all Turloughmore now and Jack Gill pointed directly from a seventy. Mickey Cullinane added a point and Michael Cullinane went through for a goal in the twenty-second minute. Six minutes later Frank Coffey slammed in a goal and just on full-time Mickey Cullinane goaled and added a point to leave Turloughmore worthy winners by 5 - 13 to 2 - 4.

Turloughmore: Bobby Madden, Pat Langan, Packie Burke, Paddy Caulfield, Mickey Fahy, Jack Gill, Alfie Glavin, Seamus Murphy, Seamus Fallon, Frank Coffey, Mickey Cullinane, Frank Forde, Paddy Fahy, John Burke, Michael Cullinane,

Substitute: Jimmy Egan.

Fohenagh: Frank Madden, Jim Moclair, Paddy Killilea, Mick Moylette, Gerry Sweeney, Tom Moylette, Tommy Glynn, James Murray, Tony O’Gorman, Tim Sweeney, Frank Glynn, Jimmy Corry, Albie Glynn, Jim Sweeney, Liam Murray.

Substitutes: J. Coen, Sean Carrig.

Posted in County Final.