County Final 1964

October 17th 1964

Turloughmore 5 - 11 Ballinasloe 5 - 5

Ballinasloe started in great style and were a goal up within 90 seconds and seven points clear before Turloughmore had their first point, five minutes into the game.

Turloughmore battled back and had soon narrowed the gap to one point Frank Coffey scored the levelling point after nineteen minutes. Turloughmore edged two points in front, but a goal and a point by P.J. Lawless for Ballinasloe gave them the advantage. Soon their hopes were shattered as Paddy Fahy who was playing centre half back moved to left half and then down field on his way to the sideline scoring a goal. Two more points followed for Turloughmore from Coffey, and Meade scored one for Ballinasloe. Ballinasloe were narrowly ahead at the break, Ballinasloe 4 – 4 Turloughmore 2 – 9.

The Turloughmore selectors changed the half back line. They moved Mickey Cullinane to centre back, Paddy Fahy from there to the left and Seamus Fallon to the right. Alfie Glavin who started at corner forward was brought back to man the no. 2 spot. The defence was now solid.

Later on in the game things began to improve mainly due to Mickey Cullinane, easily the most polished player on view.

Sean Meade was never a real threat at centre forward and Cyril Dunne had to play second fiddle to Seamus Murphy for most of the game. Ballinasloe’s other star Tom Purcell was completely shut out by Mickey Cullinane at first and then Seamus Fallon who held him scoreless.

The star of the side was undoubtedly Mickey Cullinane who proved again he is the best club hurler in the country. Mickey had moved into the No. 6 slot and this was a major factor in Turloughmore’s victory.

Of the forwards Michael Cullinane and Frank Coffey were most impressive. For Ballinasloe goalie Eddie Trappe made some exciting saves. John Egan, Jim Black did well as did Brendan Kelly and P.J. Lawless. Midfielder Tom Boyle was no match for Burke.

Scorers for Turloughmore: Paddy Fahy 3 – 1; Jimmy Burke 1 – 1: Michael Cullinane 0 – 3; Alfie Glavin 0 – 1.

Scorers for Ballinasloe: Paddy Lynch      2 – 0; Cyril Dunne 1 – 2; Sean Meade 1 – 1; P.J. Lawless 1 – 0; T. McDevitt 0 – 1; Tom Purcell 0 – 1.

Turloughmore: Bobby Madden; Pat Langan, Pakie Burke, Paddy Caulfield; Mickey Cullinane, Paddy Fahy, Seamus Murphy; Jim Burke, Frank Coffey; P.J. Qualter, Tom Rabbitte, Michael Cullinane, Jimmy Burke, Alf Glavin. Sean Meade, Tom Purcell, Paddy Lynch, Mike Lawless, Peter Byrnes.

Ballinasloe: Tom Carr; Ed Trappe, Jim Black, John Egan; Brendan Kelly, P.J. Lawless, Tom Boyle; Cyril Dunne, Paddy Lally; Sean Meade, Tom Purcell, Paddy Lynch, Mike Lawless.

Posted in County Final.