County Final 1965

October 17th 1965

Turloughmore 7 – 4 Killimordaly 4 - 11

“Veteran Fahy The Saviour”

Turloughmore joined Castlegar as the only clubs in Galway to win five successive senior hurling titles by beating Killimordaly in a thrilling and tensely fought final in Ballinasloe.

The game started at a slow pace and first to score were Killimordaly with a point by John Joe Dilleen. Shortly after this Turlough fought back with a goal by Frank Coffey. The Champions added another goal by Alfie Glavin, and when P.J. Qualter added a goal and a point against a point from Dilleen, Turloughmore looked to be on the road to victory. This was not the case as Killimordaly fought back bravely with goals from Johnny Earls and Paddy Creaven in rapid succession followed by points from Paul Kilkenny and Dilleen to level the score. With ten minutes remaining in the first half Killimordaly were now in top gear and they added further scores from Creaven (1 - 0) and points from Kilkenny and Paddy Mitchell to leave five points separating the teams at half time.

Killimordaly started the second half with points from Paddy Mitchell and Fintan Connaire.

The champions rallied back with two snap goals by P.J. Qualter and Michael Cullinane, followed by a point from Cullinane again.

Just entering the last quarter, Killimordaly broke the deadlock with a goal from Creavan.

Four minutes later Qualter blazed the equaliser for Turlough. Jackie Gill and Dilleen then exchanged points followed by a further point by Dilleen. Turloughmore then snatched a dramatic goal by their captain Paddy Fahy which was followed by a Paddy Mitchell point for Killimordaly.

The champions had now snatched victory and had won five in a row. In the Turloughmore defence Pakie Burke, Mick Long, Seamus Murphy and Jackie Gill were outstanding. At midfield, Seamus Murphy and Johnny Burke gave wholehearted displays while P.J. Qualter, Frank Coffey, Michael Cullinane and Paddy Fahy shone in the Forward line.

Turloughmore: Bobbie Madden; Mick Long, Pakie Burke, Paddy Caulfield; Tom Duffy, Jackie Gill, Jimmy Rabbitte; Seamus Murphy, John Burke; Frank Coffey, Mickey Cullinane, Paddy Fahy; Alfie Glavin, Michael Cullinane, P.J. Qualter.

Subs: Seamus Fallon for Thomas Duffy, Josie Rabbitte for Glavin, Glavin for Rabbitte.

Killimordaly; Michael Earls; John Noone, Mickey Earls, Noel Earls; John Malone, Paddy Malone, Frank Burke; Paul Kilkenny, Paddy Mitchell; John Joe Dilleen, Fintan Connaire, Stephen Coen; Paddy Creaven, John Earls, Donal McGrath.

Subs: Vincent Earls for McGann, Des Coen for Burke.

Referee M.J. (Inky) Flaherty. Ballinasloe.

Posted in County Final.