County Final 1966 – Report

September 24th 1966

Turloughmore . . . . . . . 4 - 8 (20)     Mullagh . . . . . . . . . 2 - 8 (14)

At sun drenched Kenney Park, Athenry, before a huge crowd Turloughmore County Champions took another step forward to break all records by taking their sixth County Galway Senior Hurling Title in succession.

Turlough never let Mullagh out of their touch and were calm enough under pressure. When the time came to take over Turlough still had something in hand and stepped in to move ahead after this interval. The mixture of youth and experience blended well for Turlough and their three main stars were the youthful Frank Coffey, and old timers Paddy Fahy and Michael Cullinane.

Both sides were slow to settle and Hardiman was first to score a point for Mullagh. This was followed by a goal for Turloughmore scored by Michael Cullinane. Mullagh were once again ahead after Clarke scored another goal. Turlough had a goal disallowed but in the tenth minute Frank Coffey levelled the scoring with a point.

Turlough were in the lead with a goal from Paddy Fahy after twenty minutes of play but Pakie Cahalan and Joe Lyons exchanged points. Mullagh went further a head with a point from Cahalan. Just before half time Frank Coffey scored a point leaving the score at half time at Turloughmore 2 – 3 Mullagh 2 – 5.

On the resumption of play, the match was won and lost and champions Turloughmore took over completely, for the first ten minutes. In the fourth minute, Michael Cullinane pointed to narrow the gap and a minute later came the all important goal from Thomas Duffy that put Turlough into the lead. From there on the north board men never looked back and in the sixth minute Paddy Fahy added a point. Eight minutes of the second half had gone when Paddy Fahy more or less clinched the issue with a fine goal for good measure Mickey Cullinane clinched the issue with a fine goal and for good measure Mickey Cullinane added a point. Seconds later however Kevin Kennedy with the goal at his mercy slammed over a point for Mullagh and Seamus Murphy replied for Turlough. Jimmy Rabbitte exchanged points with Pakie Cahalan and Joe Lyons ended the scoring in the fifty eight minute with a point for Mullagh. This left the final score at Turloughmore 4 – 8 Mullagh 2 – 8.

Bobby Madden had a sound game between the Turlough posts and he got good cover from Paddy Langan, Pakie Burke and Paddy Caulfield. The half forward line of Jimmy Rabbitte, P.J. Qualter and Mickey Cullinane was very impressive while Paddy Fahy, Michael Cullinane, Frank Coffey, Thomas Duffy and Seamus Murphy all got their names on the score board.

Turloughmore: Paddy Fahy 2 – 1; Michael Cullinane 1 – 2; Frank Coffey 0 – 3; Thomas Duffy 1 – 0; Jimmy Rabbitte   0 – 1; Seamus Murphy 0 – 1.

Mullagh: P. Cahalan 1 – 1; C. Clarke 1 – 0; J. Lyons   0 – 2; K. Kennedy 0 – 2; P. Hardiman 0 – 1.

Turloughmore: Bobbie Madden; Paddy Langan, Pakie Burke, Paddy Caulfield; Mick Long, Jackie Gill, Mickey Fahy; Seamus Murphy, Frank Coffey; Jimmy Rabbitte, P.J. Qualter, Mickey Cullinane; Thomas Duffy, Paddy Fahy, Michael Cullinane.

Mullagh: Sean Broderick; John Boyle, Joe Cahalan, Brendan Loughnane; Paddy Clarke, Seamus. Gohery, Michael Boyle; Kevin Kennedy, Peter Hardiman; Pakie Cahalan, Joe Lyons, Michael Lyons; Charlie Clarke, Pat Lyons, Francis Loughnane.

Referee: Mr. P Duggan, Galway.

Posted in County Final.