Camogie Club AGM 2012

January 2012
Turloughmore Camogie Club reconvened AGM took place on Monday 2nd January in Turloughmore Centre at 7.30 pm. The AGM was opened by outgoing chairperson Breda Finn by holding a minute silence for all who died during the past year. Treasurer Christina Wheland and Assistant Treasurer Caroline Higgins reported on the club finances during the year that showed a good balance starting out for 2012. 
Secretary Emer Kearney then looked back at a very successful year for the club which celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2011. She congratulated the Junior A team on winning the county championship and league and the U16B team on becoming county champions. Emer congratulated the U14 team on participating in féile in Galway in such an exemplary fashion. She thanked all the management teams involved with all teams during the year, Physios Nicola Deasy, Geraldine Connolly and Yvonne McHugh and nurse Maura Linnane. Emer thanked all involved in making the Paddy O'Brien tournament a success and thanked Craughwell, Cois Fharraighe and Banagher in Offaly for participating in the tournament. She congratulated the Turloughmore team on winning the tournament and retaining the cup. She then thanked Orla and Aoife Shaughnessy and all the officers for organising the social and Ann Kearney for arranging the special guests Ann and Angela Downey and Veronica Curtain. She also thanked the Claregalway Hotel for the excellent facilities. Emer then thanked the Turloughmore Hurling Club for the use of pitches and facilities during the year. She also thanked all parents who helped out with fund raising during the year. She thanked Flynn's of Lackagh, Frank Kearney Funeral Directors, Kevin McDonagh, Yvonne & Teresa McHugh and The House Hotel for their sponsorship during the year. She also thanked the parents and players who helped in bag packing during the year. She thanked all who sponsored races for the Camel Night, John Forde, John Morris and Brian Morris for doing the tote on the night. She thanked her fellow officers for work during the year especially with féile and the 25 year celebrations that took place during the year. 
Emer then announced she was stepping down as secretary after 16 years in various officer positions for the club and the last 11 years involved in the county camogie scene. Emer has given excellent services to Turloughmore Camoige Club and we thank her for all her hard work and commitment during her time involved. 
The team managers reported on the various age groups they managed during the year. Every manager was very happy with the progress that happened during the past year but it was noted that work needed to be done especially with the U12 age group to help maintain numbers and keep girls involved in camogie. All managers thanked those who helped out with teams during the year and parents for their support during the year. U14 manager Emer Kearney gave special mention on féile and the hosting of eventual winners Cahir from Tipperary for the weekend. She thanked all who helped out during the year especially to parents for all their help. She also thanked the management team who helped her during the year. Peter Fahy reported on the U16 team and their great success. He also thanked all who helped and came and supported the girls during the year. He gave credit to the U16 team and Junior A team for coming from behind and winning their finals and stated that this showed their great attitude of never wanting to give up. Finbar Flaherty and Ann Kearney reported on the great Junior success during the year. Both thanked all who helped out during the year especially Pat Shaughnessy, Billy O'Grady and Brian Murphy and Emer Kearney. Ann also thanked Johnny Kane and Emer Kearney for the great service that they gave to Galway camogie during the year and mentioned that Johnny Kane did not deserve to be treated so disrespectfully by the county board at the Galway AGM. 
Outgoing chairperson Breda Finn welcomed all who were present at the AGM. She looked back at the successful year the club had winning 4 cups the Junior A League and Championship, Paddy O'Brien tournament and U16 B championship. She thanked all who helped in underage and the great work that was being done their as they all had a good year. She was delighted to see the club host a very successful Paddy O'Brien tournament which Turloughmore retained. She thanked the U14 team for their great performance during féile and for the behaviour when hosting Cahir. She thanked all parents who brought children to training and matches, all the sponsors for their sponsorship during the year, all the players for their dedication and spirit throughout the year, physios Yvonne McHugh and Nicola Deasy and nurse Maura Linnane. She then thanked all the committee for their hard work during the year and all who helped the club. She also announced that she was stepping down as chairperson. 
The election of officers then took place. Officers elected for 2012 Patrons: Fr Des Walsh and Fr John D Flannery. Presidents Jim Keane and Gerry Linnane. Chairperson Ann Kearney. Vice Chairperson Johnny Kane. Secretary Breda Finn. Assistant Secretary Geraldine Dunleavy. The treasurers position was left vacant. PRO Fiona Kearney. Delegates to the county board Johnny Kane and Ann Kearney. Registrar Emer Kearney. Child Officer Breda Finn and Development Officer Adrian Mooney. 
The election of managers then took place. The under 8 and 10 management Fiona Kearney, Caitriona Linnane, Catriona Delaney, Colm Burke and Martina Collins. U12 management Patsy Burke, Colm Burke and Fiona Kearney. U14 Manager Johnny Kane. U16 manger Peter Fahy. U18 manager Geraldine Dunleavy. Intermediate managers Finbar Flaherty and Ann Kearney. 
Newly elected chairperson Ann Kearney wished all the very best for 2012 and then closed the meeting.
Posted in Uncategorized.