U13 C1 County Final


Turloughmore 1-6 Micheal Breathnachs 1-0


Turloughmore won the U13 C1 Final in Athenry with a deserved win. Turloughmore started the game well and built a good lead of 1-5 to 0-0 at the interval, making use of the breeze. Owen Kearney, Eanna O Loingsigh shot points before a 65 from Paraic McGrath and a well taken Mikey McCullagh score left Turloughmore 0-4 to 0-0 in front.

Then Jack Kearney took a great pass and crashed to the net for a crucial goal before Paraic McGrath landed a free to leave Turloughmore 1-5 to 0-0 ahead at half time. The second half saw scores at a premium.

The lively Eanna Monaghan stretched the Turloughmore lead though it took some fine defending from Turloughmore to keep Micheal Breathnachs at bay. Turloughmore hurled with style and skill and this young team performed well to ensure victory.

The West Galway side, who had some fine hurlers and hurled well themselves, finally got a break when Oisin Mac Aodha shot a free to the net four minutes from time, but it was too little too late and Turloughmore emerged winners on a 1-6 to 1-0 score line.

Afterwards Pauric Lohan, the Underage Hurling Chairman presented the Cup to Turloughmore Captain Paraic McGrath, while Eanna O Loingsigh picked up the Man of the Match award.

Well done to all concerned!!

Turloughmore U13 C1 Panel: Eamon McGrath, Colin Fitzmaurice, Shane Quinn, Dean Burke, Patrick Moloney, Paraic McGrath 0-2, free & 65, Jack Mullen, Eanna O Loingsigh 0-1, Cian Murphy, Owen Kearney 0-1, Gerard O Riordan, Jamie Burke, Jack Kearney 1-0, Michael McCullagh 0-1, Ryan Kearney, Michael Christle, Caoimhen Burke, Ronan Flaherty, Cillian Trayers, Eanna Monaghan 0-1, Jack Conway, Liam Mullally.

Manager Declan Kearney, Selectors: Eamon O Loingsigh, Peter Nolan, Brian Holland.

Posted in Under Age.