U14 County Champions 2018

Joe Salmon Cup comes back to Turloughmore

Turloughmore 1-5 Clarinbridge 1-3

For the second time in 5 years, Turloughmore won the U14 A Championship in Athenry on Sunday evening when a dramatic late goal snatched victory. Played in difficult weather conditions, a defensive Clarinbridge side set about their task well and led by 0-2 to 0-1 after the opening 9 minutes. Eoghan Conneely got Turloughmore’s opening score.

Then Clarinbridge’s Sean Fox goaled and when Aaron Niland shot his second free it stretched Clarinbridge 5 points in front before Eoghan Conneely shot a free before the interval to leave Clarinbridge 1-3 to 0-2 up at half time. Turloughmore were fired up for the second half but found space and scores hard to come by.

An injury to full back Darragh Walsh meant that he played the remainder of the game at full forward and he shot Turloughmore’s opening score of the second period on 31 minutes from a free. Indeed, Clarinbridge would not score in the second half, as Turloughmore made life difficult for themselves by shooting a match total of 10 wides, while goalkeeper Evan Spellman denied Turloughmore in that second half as well.

Well worked moves culminated firstly in Matthew Tarpey setting up Eoghan Conneely for a 37th minute point, while Cillian Trayers supplied for Matthew Tarpey to point and reduce the margin to a point, 1-3 to 0-5, deep into the 6 minutes of allotted injury time. Then came the dramatic finish, when Matthew Tarpey’s 65 was deflected to the net and thus Turloughmore were 2 up – 1-5 to 1-3. A further Clarinbridge attack yielded no return and thus Turloughmore posted a two point win and duly recorded a double in both winning both the Feile and U14 A Galway titles in 2018. In so doing, they also demonstrated the old adage that you never give up until the end. Turloughmore will now contest the National Feile in June.

Ciaran Wilde in goal and a superb defence of Colin Fitzmaurice, Captain Darragh Walsh, Cian Hanley, and a rock solid half back line of Eanna Monaghan, Cillian Whelan and Jack Lonergan all excelled, as did sub Evan Gill. Man of the Match Matthew Tarpey and fellow midfielder Cillian Trayers hurled an amount of ball, while in attack Eanna O’Loingsigh, Eoghan Conneely, Owen Kearney, Tom Nolan, Sean Duggan and Gearoid Fahy all contributed to the win. Ultimately this was a great panel win while the management team, led by Declan Kearney, have done a superb job throughout the year. Well done all!

Turloughmore Scorers: Matthew Tarpey 1-1, 1-0 65, Eoghan Conneely 0-3, 0-1 free, Darragh Walsh 0-1 free. Clarinbridge Scorers: Sean Fox 1-0, Aaron Niland 0-2 frees, Colin Counihan 0-1

Turloughmore: Ciaran Wilde, Colin Fitzmaurice, Darragh Walsh, Cian Hanley, Eanna Monaghan, Cillian Whelan, Jack Lonergan, Matthew Tarpey, Cillian Trayers, Eanna O Loingsigh, Eoghan Conneely, Owen Kearney, Tom Nolan, Sean Duggan, Gearoid Fahy. Subs: Evan Gill, Ryan Kearney, Eamon McGrath, Conor Mullins, Cian O’Callaghan, Ronan Flaherty, Rory Casserly, Owen Morgan, Oisin Fahy, Tom McNicholas, Evan Forde, Shane Commins, Jamie Burke, Marc Cummins, Ryan Rabbit, Stephen Murphy, Charlie Keane

Management: Declan Kearney Manager, Peter Nolan, Eamon O’ Loingsigh, Brian Holland, and Gerry Kearney. First Aid: Padraig Fitzmaurice

Ref: Christy Browne

Posted in Under Age.