Senior Hurling – 08-04-2018

Turloughmore 0-15 Ballindereen 1-8

Turloughmore overcame Ballindereen in the opening round of the Senior Hurling championship in Pearse Stadium on Sunday. The winners led this Senior B tie by 0-7 to 0-4 at half time after Ballindereen, promoted as the 2017 Intermediate Champions, led by 0-4 to 0-2 after seven minutes. Turloughmore outscored their opponents 0-5 to 0-0 in the 20 minutes before the interval with senior debutant Daniel Loftus, Barry McDonagh, Sean Loftus, Daithi Burke and Jamie Holland (free) all finding the target.

Indeed, the lead at the interval could have been greater but Matthew Keating saw a30th minute goal chance end in the side net. Turloughmore were dealt a blow at the interval when All Star Daithi Burke was forced to retire due to injury. Jamie Holland with two frees either side of a placed ball from Ballindereen marksman Kevin Lane left Turloughmore 0-9 to 0-7 ahead on 37 minutes.

Then Ballindereen upped the tempo – Oisin Burke shot a 40th minute goal, which was followed by a Kevin Lane free after David O’Connor hit the Turloughmore crossbar. Sean Loftus, who excelled with 5 points over the hour, steadied Turloughmore with a 46th point to leave Turloughmore 0-10 to 1-6 ahead.

Then on 47 minutes, Paul Dullaghan executed a fine penalty save from Kevin Lane and Turloughmore took inspiration to shoot four answered points. Sean Linnane and Sean Loftus shot 2 apiece, each a well taken effort to extend the lead to 0-14 to 1-6 on 57 minutes. Oisin Burke and Kevin Lane, free, added late Ballindereen points before senior debutant Conor Walsh shot an injury time free to leave Turloughmore 0-15 to 1-8 winners. Turloughmore will meet Beagh in round two of the championship in two weeks time.

Turloughmore: Paul Dullaghan, Fergal Moore, Ronan Burke, Micheal Morris, Kevin Hussey, Daithi Burke 0-1, Daniel Loftus 0-1, Sean Loftus 0-5, Vincent Doyle, Jamie Holland 0-4 frees, Matthew Keating, Shane Burke, Sean Linnane 0-2, Richard Doyle, Barry McDonagh 0-1. Subs: Mark Murphy for Daithi Burke inj ht, Conor Shaughnessy for Richard Doyle 46 mins, Conor Walsh 0-1 free for Shane Burke 46 mins, Damien Holland for Jamie Holland 58 mins.

Ballindereen scorers: Kevin Lane 0-4 frees, Oisin Burke 1-1, Roy Lane 0-1, Sean Coen 0-1, Shane Larkin 0-1

Posted in Senior.